The new Minimum Wage rates for 2022 have taken effect across the State of California. The California minimum wage increased January 1, 2022 to $15.00 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees, and $14.00 per hour for employers with 25 employees or less.
It is important to note most San Diego employers are subject to Federal, State and Local minimum wage laws.
San Diego Minimum wage for 2022: $15.00 per Hour Regardless of the number of employees on your payroll.
For Example, the New Minimum Wages Rates for 2022 in the City of San Diego include a minimum wage of $15.00 per hour, effective January 1, 2022 for ALL employers with employees who perform at least two hours of work in one or more calendar weeks of the year within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego.
If your business is outside of the boundaries of the CITY of San Diego, but within the geographic boundaries of the COUNTY of San Diego, the California minimum wage rates above ($15.00/$14.00) apply.
In addition to the new Minimum Wage rates for 2022 San Diego and California employers must provide each employee with “Earned Sick Leave.” Here in the City of San Diego, each employee is to “accrue no less than one (1) hour of earned sick leave for every thirty (30) hours worked within the geographic boundaries of San Diego. Any unused earned sick leave must be carried forward to the following benefit year.
The Watkins Firm provides sound general business counsel to San Diego and Southern California employers to help them to fulfill their legal responsibilities. Ask about our “Employee Handbook Package” or about our work to review and update your policies and procedures.
If you are a San Diego area employer it is important to understand and comply with the new minimum wage rates for 2022. We invite you to review the strong recommendations of our clients and contact the Watkins Firm or call 858-535-1511 for a complimentary consultation today.